SAHMAT

Safdar Hashmi Memorial Trust

29 Ferozeshah Road, New Delhi 110 001 **T** (011) 23381276, 23070787 **E** sahmat8@yahoo.com **W** www.sahmat.org 16.2.2015

Politics of Vendetta Shall not Defeat the Cause of Justice

Statement in Solidarity with Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand

Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand, who have fought a long and heroic battle to advance the cause of justice for Gujarat's 2002 pogrom, face possible prosecution on charges of financial misappropriation. We see this as a clear case of the politics of vendetta launched with explicit intent to whitewash and efface from public memory the misdeeds of those who today wield political power in the state and centre.

As the government headed by Narendra Modi launches a fresh investigation into the 1984 carnage on the streets of Delhi – a measure that we would welcome except for the obvious partisan motivation behind it – we are shocked to see this persisting spirit of vendetta against an effort to enforce legal and moral accountability for an equally horrific massacre in Gujarat.

The Gujarat police's alacrity in turning up at the doorstep of Teesta and Javed's Mumbai residence within minutes after the High Court in Gandhinagar pronounced that it would not entertain their plea for anticipatory bail, suggests an intent to bully and intimidate. The ostensible reason, that Teesta and Javed are required for "custodial interrogation" is an unwitting, but nonetheless chilling confession of the Gujarat police's real intent.

We have serious doubts about the *bonafide* of the complainants in this matter, but have taken the trouble of familiarising ourselves with the nature of the charges they make. An utterly trivial complaint has been inflated by the prosecution into charges involving crores, when the actual magnitude of funds received for the impugned purpose — building a museum of remembrance in Ahmedabad for victims of communal violence — was a mere Rs 4.6 lakh. These funds were received in the accounts of Sabrang, one among two trusts that have been engaged in the cause of justice for the 2002 riots. The other trust of which Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand are executive functionaries — Citizens for Justice and Peace (CJP) — has received far larger donations for the cause of pursuing avenues of legal redress for the 2002 victims and survivors. Curiously, every withdrawal for petty cash expenses for the activities of the Trust has been portrayed by the prosecution as an instance of defalcation for personal ends. Honrarium or salaries paid to Teesta and Javed have been similarly presented, though these are fully in conformity with memoranda of understanding and agreements arrived at between their trusts and donor agencies.

There are several such patent distortions of fact in the prosecution case. For their part, Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand, we understand, have submitted all relevant invoices clarifying the purposes of every one of the impugned cash withdrawals. These number some 11,000 documents and have been available with the investigating agencies for several weeks.

By way of background, we would like to recall that the Supreme Court has at least twice in past years, made adverse observations about the Gujarat state government's campaign of vilification against Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand. The first such instance was in 2004, after elements within the ruling party in Gujarat pressured and in other ways induced a key witness in the Best Bakery case. Zaheera Sheikh, to change her testimony so that charges of obstructing the course of justice and perjury could be brought against Teesta. A second instance was in 2010-11, when malicious charges of exhuming the bodies of riot victims from their graves were brought and summarily dismissed as absurd by the highest court.

We are shocked at the tone of some of the media coverage, especially in some television news channels. These have made a bonfire of the basic principle of fairness and due process, which is the presumption of innocence. They have also shown more than the usual aversion to understanding issues of complexity, though these are not matters that would challenge more than the average intelligence.

We extend our solidarity to Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand in this hour of trial and reaffirm our unstinting support to the cause they are engaged in.

Irfan Habib Noam Chomsky Ashok Mitra Romila Thapar Amiva Kumar Baqchi Vivan Sundaram Prabhat Patnaik Mushirul Hasan Kumar Shahani Aijaz Ahmad Sheldon Pollock Akeel Bilgrami Nilima Sheikh Mihir Bhattacharya Saeed Mirza Sashi Kumar Ram Rahman Sukumar Muralidharan Aashish Yadav Aban Raza

Abdullah A Rahman Abha Dev Habib Abhilasha Kumari Adil Qureshi Aditya Mukherjee Aditi Chowdhury Aditi Raina Ahmar Raza Akila Jayaraman

Ali Ahmad Ali Akbar Mehta Amar Farooqui Ameet Parmeswaran Amol Saghar Anant Raina Anil Bhatti

Anil Chandra

Anil Sadgopal

Anita Cherian

Anisha Imhasly

Anil Nauria

Anjali Raina Annie Chatterji Annie Mathew Anuradha Chenoy Anuradha Kapur Archana Hande Archana Prasad Ariun Dev Arpana Caur Asad Zaidi Asoknath Basu Attaullah Atul Bhardwaj Ayesha Kidwai B P Sahu Badri Raina

Bhanu Mehta

Bharati Kapadia Bina Sarkar Biswamov Pati Bratati Pande C P Chandrasekhar Caecillia Tripp Carol Royane Chanchal Chauhan Chandana Mathur Chitra Joshi D N Jha Daanish Raj

Dev Benegal Dinesh Abrol Dinesh Mohan Estelle Desai Gaurav S Gautam Arora Geeta Kapur Geeti Das Githa Hariharan Gulammohammed Sheikh

Hans Kaushik

Harish J Padmanabhan

Harsh Kapoor Hassan Suroor Indira Ariun Dev Indira Chandrasekhar Indrapramit Roy

Iqtidar Alam Khan

Ira Raja Ishrat Alam

Jaikrishan Agarwala
Jamshed Chenoy
Janaki Nair
Jauhar Kanungo
Javed Malick
Jayati Ghosh
Jehangir Jani
K M Venugopalan
K Satchidanandan
K M Shrimali
Kabir Chandra
Kamal Mitra Chenoy
Kanad Sinha
Kanishka Prasad
Kannan Sundaram

Kaushik Mukhopadhayay Keval Arora Kirtana Kumar Krishna Shekhawat Kumi Chandra Kumkum Sangari Kunal Chakrabarti L Jagannath Lata Singh

Lawrence Surendra Lima Kanungo M K Raina

Madan Gopal Singh Madhu Prasad Malini Bhattacharya Manu Chandra Maya K Rao Meera Devidayal Meera Menezes Mira Chandra Mithu Sen

Mira Chandra Mithu Sen Mitul Baruah Mohan Rao Mohd. Arif Moloyashree Hashmi Mridula Mukherjee Mukul Mangalik N K Sharma Nalini Malani Neeraj Malick

Nilima Sheikh Nina Rao Pabitra Sarkar Padmaja Shah Partha Chatterjee Parthiv Shah Partho Datta Prabhat Shukla

Prachi Narayan Praveen Jha Pushpamala N R Vijayashankar R K Poddar R C Thakran R G Mukhopadhyay

Prabir Purkayastha

Radhika Desai Radhika Menon Rahul Verma Rajendra Prasad

Rajni Bhagat Arora Rakhshanda Jalil

Rani Ray Rashmi Kaleka

Raiinder Arora

Ratnabali Chattopadhyay Ritambhara Shastri Rubin D'Cruz

Rubin D'Cruz Ruchira Gupta Rustom Bharucha

S Kalidas Saeed Mirza Saif Mahmood Smita Gupta Savita Singh Seema Mustafa Shahana Bhattacharya

Shaina Anand Shakti Kak

Shankar Chandra Shankhayan Chowdhury

Sharmila Samant Sheba Chhachhi Sherna Dastur Shikha Jhingan Shireen Jungalwala Shireen Moosvi Shivaji Panikkar Shubhra Chakrabarti Siddharth Varadarajan

Sujata Madhok S K Das Sohail Hashmi Sonia Jabbar Subhashini Ali Sumesh Sharma Sumit Chowdhury Sunil Kothari Suvira Jaiswal Syed Hasan Kazim Syeda Hameed Tarun Maiumdar

Tirthankar Chattopadhyay

Tushar Joag
Upendra Trivedi
Utsa Patnaik
Varunika Saraf
Vasudha Thozhur
Veer Munshi
Vikas Rawal
Vinoo Mathew
Virendra Saini
Vishwar Dioa

Xavier Dias Zasha Colah Zoya Hasan